Jump to Content
Knowledge Lab logo

What are levels of care in New Zealand?

What are levels of care in New Zealand?

Levels of care are essentially types of care. Currently there are four ‘levels of care’ in New Zealand:

  • Rest Home Those who require this level of care usually have some ability to get about on their own or with some help. They require some assistance with personal care and general day-to-day activities. Many have a degree of memory loss. Some people who have a dementia may be able to be safely and suitably supported in a rest home.
  • Hospital This refers to an age-related hospital rather than public hospital. The care is for those who have a significant disability, medical concerns, and possible cognitive decline, that requires the continual oversight and support of registered nurses. Most require the assistance of two people to move about.
  • Dementia This level of care is for those who need a secure home, usually because there are safety concerns for themselves or others.
  • Psychogeriatric Specialist Hospital. This level of care is designed for people with a mental health or dementia disorder who require a high level of nursing care and management of behaviour that challenges. They need a secure environment and the skills of specially trained staff.

The range of needs within these levels can differ widely.

Find: Residential care facilities & VACANCIES

Eldernet is NZ's only daily (Mon-Fri) updated directory of rest home, dementia, hospital and psychogeriatric care facilities.

Updated: 14 Feb 2024
Was this resource helpful?