Jump to Content

Search our directory

Oxford Court Lifecare

Send me an
Information Pack
At a glance
Vacancy
No
Name
Oxford Court Lifecare
Category
Rest Home Care
Address
164 Oxford Street
South Dunedin
Dunedin
Postal Address
PO Box 2392
South Dunedin
Dunedin 9044
DHB
Southern (Otago)
Phone
(03) 455 9230
Fax
(03) 455 9235
Email
View Email Address
Web
Visit Website
Personnel
Manager
Laura Kerr - 03 455 9230
Other services
Photos
Tap to view all photos 1/3
Add your own review for this service

Very concerned

Yes I am very concerned about my love one in this place now and I agree since the new owner the standard has gone way down. The amount of staff leaving is beyond a joke now and it not fair for the residents with people coming and going. It does seem with the new owner it is all about money but if they keep going the way they are they will be closed down cos there will not be any staff left to look after the residents. Yes I am not happy about the food and the odd time I have been there when lunch is brought out it is cold not hot like a meal is meant to be. I do not want to move my love one but if things do not get better I will be. The staff that are there are lovely and do a wonderful job but I am guessing the new owner does not see this or else they would not be all leaving


Provider response:

Thank you for your feedback. Oxford Court is a family owned and operated facility run by wonderful staff who have an absolute focus on our residents’ care and wellbeing. Our facility has been undergoing a period of change with the development of our new wing and we are very sorry that this caused dissatisfaction. If possible, we would greatly appreciate the opportunity to meet face-to-face and proactively discuss any other concerns that you may have.
Many thanks, Oxford Court Lifecare Management Team

On the way down

With the change of owners Oxford Court has certainly changed
And NOT for the best. Kitchen has been closed and outsourced
To Cibus catering (old ace catering) and menu has been a challenge
Along with disgusting meals. Very well saying they have x amount nutrients in them but when residents are not eating then 0 nutrients.
New owners in my opinion just think about $$$|. No longer are there activities in the week mornings and what activities they have pretty poor.
Happy hour not allowed in new lounge in case carpet gets something spilt on!!!. No curtains in new lounge which means at night can see right in. Not enough chairs for all the residents!
Due to security risk at night main entrance now locked and you reenter thru dinning room which allows all the freezing air in but who Cares??
Let's put the non verbal in this area as they can't complain.
( comment deleted, confidential information).
Time to find some where else for my loved one.
Please think very seriously about putting you loved one in here as owners don't care!


Provider response:

Thank you for your feedback and suggestions. We are very sorry to hear that you feel this way about our services. While we have been undergoing renovations, we are aware that there has been complications and many changes to the current facility. These are still a work in progress and many of the concerns you have raised will be rectified with the completion of the new wing. We will take on board your concerns and make improvements where possible. We aim to continually improve the services we provide and if you have any further feedback, we would greatly appreciate the opportunity to meet with you and work through these.
Much appreciated, Oxford Court Lifecare Management Team.

Love it

Manager is genuine and approachable, staff are friendly and helpful, residents seem happy and relaxed.

Poor management and poorly trained staff

This home used to be of a high rating. However since new management took over the standards have dropped considerably. Staff have been cut back and they are now poorly trained and overworked which has resulted in deteriorating professional standards. The food is also of a poor quality due to recent outsourcing.


Provider response:

Thank you for your feedback.
As you are aware there have been many external and internal alterations since the building of the new wing in April 2018, as well as the ongoing modifications in the current facility. With such disruptions, unfortunately these have impacted on the daily lives of the residents, whanau, and the staff who support these folk. We have tried to minimise these interruptions as best we can. From our perspective, it has been quite difficult to control these factors, as many of these alterations are required to meet our building compliance and health and safety legal requirements. Please understand, I am not trying to minimise your concerns you have identified. We have been trying our best to inform residents, whanau, and staff of any renovations ahead of time, at times this may not have been conveyed in a timely manner. My sincerest apologies for this oversight, if this was the case.
We do strive to inform residents and staff through our monthly meetings regarding any matters and have been open and transparent about such issues. Whanau are emailed of any changes and updated. We received favourable comments regarding this form of communication from our recent whanau meeting in March 2019.
I fully appreciate and recognise why you feel that our standards have ‘dropped.’ Having these ongoing renovations have made it temporarily difficult to maintain our high standards. However, there is a light at the end of the tunnel, with these alterations coming to an end very soon after a long year. I do thank you, the residents, whanau, and the dedicated team of staff for all of your ongoing patience.
You have mentioned that we have had staff cut backs. I would like to inform you that this is not the case. This brings me to discuss the evaluation of our service delivery.
It was identified that the care staffing ratio needed to be reviewed due to feedback and concerns received from residents, whanau, and staff late last year. After taking on these concerns, we identified the gaps as to where staff were best placed, so we implemented the following:
• An additional line was created in the morning shift. These staff members start and finish later to assist the needs of the residents, and to support their colleagues in the morning and incoming afternoon shift. This change occurred in February 2019 and is working well. We received great feedback regarding this implementation from the recent whanau meeting held in March 2019.
• A review of the activity hours was examined and the hours were amended. These changes involved the activity staff member commencing later in the day, and finishing before teatime, over a five day period to support and engage resident’s needs and requirements. This new change occurred late January 2019.
• The afternoon shifts hours were reviewed and this was again modified to fill in the identified gaps in our service delivery during times that we recognised the residents required support.
• All these implementations remain a ‘work in progress,’ as we continue to evaluate, improve, and stream line our service delivery moving forward.
The other concern you have raised is, “…staff are poorly trained and overworked which has resulted in deteriorating professional standards...”
We are fortunate that one of our dedicated Registered Nurses has expressed an interest in the Educator role for our Facility. We are currently supporting her to go through the right channels to become a qualified assessor for the Health Care Assistants. She has been part of providing education sessions on a monthly basis at our staff meetings. We also use other external health providers to educate the staff. We have a yearly in service education schedule which is based on our contractual agreements with the Ministry of Health.
Another aspect we undertake for all staff is the completion of the annual competencies. This is mandatory. Staff are assessed on Health and Safety, Fire Safety, Moving and Handling, Hand Hygiene, Chemical Training, Social Media, and Medication Administration competencies. This is also compulsory on induction of all new staff, prior to them starting their prospective roles at Oxford Court Lifecare. We also meet new staff at the start of their employment, and at regular intervals thereafter, to ensure they are fully supported in their roles. In addition, a staff member may require further training and support so they are confident and capable. This will enable them to be competent in their role, supporting the residents and their work colleagues. I would be interested to meet with you to understand what your expectation is and what we could do to improve from here.
You also stated, “…food is also of a poor quality due to recent outsourcing.”
It has now been three weeks that the food has been cooked off site, and delivered into Oxford Court Lifecare. As referred to in an email sent to whanau in March 2019, prior to the kitchen service changing over to the new provider, I respectfully asked for some time to implement the necessary processes, as I did anticipate we would have teething issues to contend with. The changes were discussed with those present at the whanau meeting in March 2019. Copies of the menu were given to whanau and residents at the whanau meeting and the following day, the menu was emailed to whanau. The residents and staff have access to copies of these menus around the Facility. I have been very open and transparent about these changes. We informed residents, whanau, and staff and did place additional notices up to inform every one of the changeover of kitchen services. My apologies if you did not receive the information, I am happy to amend this immediately.
At the recent residents meeting, we had a very open discussion about the new menu. The feedback from the residents about the food was taken on board, and this was filtered back to the catering company concerned. They have taken the feedback and are working on any issues at present. I am also working in close proximity with the Directors of the catering company to ensure we are ‘getting it right.’ We are still working through the feedback to improve where we can. Again, this is a ‘work in progress’ it is still very much early days, but we are making progress. I do ask for your patience and support. I have had family members provide feedback to me directly, which is fantastic as I am able to take this back to the Directors at the catering company, to improve ours and their food service delivery. Again this will take time. I am happy to meet and discuss this further if there are still issues that you feel need to be addressed immediately.
I do hope this may address your concerns brought forward.
Thank you for giving me the opportunity to address these issues. We do strive to ‘get it right’ but I do recognise that there is always room for improvement.

Yours faithfully,

Jane Sefo
RN, BN, PG Cert (Gerontology)
General Manager

Description
A change in address, not a change in lifestyle.
Service/Facility Details
Service/Facility Details
DetailStatus
Contract with DHBYes
CertificationYes
ORA Applies No
Updated: 22 Apr 2019
Bed and Vacancy Details
Bed and Vacancy Details
DetailStatus
Approximate number of beds at this level of care 8
Vacancy No
Currently no rest home beds available
Impending vacancy No
Additional Room CostsNo
MOH Certification and Audit Report View MOH certification and audit report (opens in a new tab)
Updated: 20 Aug 2019
Testimonials
Testimonials
We are here to make a difference. For the Resident it is a change of address but we strive to ensure that your 'lifestyle' choices are valued and preserved. It is your life - we are here to facilitate and support you to maintain your independence and respect.
Updated: 22 Apr 2019
Personnel
Personnel
TypeHours Per WeekStatusDetails
Registered Nurse Yes The General Manager, Jane is a Registered Nurse with a Post graduate Certificate in Gerontology. Our dedicated Registered Nurses provide 24/7 care and support to Residents. They supervise and support our HCA staff to maximise residents requirements.
Nurse Practitioner Negotiable We work closely with the Southern District Health Boards Nurse practitioners. Their specialty aligns to supporting older persons health. They visit the facility on a regular basis to provide ongoing support for individual Residents.
Enrolled Nurse Yes We are fortunate to have an Enrolled Nurse join our dedicated clinical team.
Healthcare Assistants/Caregivers Yes There is a high level of support offered by a very committed team of Health Care Assistants. Staffing ratios are aligned to the Aged Related Residential Care Services.
Physiotherapist Negotiable A Physiotherapist would be accessed in consultation for any resident requiring these services.
Occupational Therapist Negotiable A Occupational Therapist would be accessed in consultation for any resident requiring these services.
Social Worker (on site) Negotiable Social Work Support can be accessed on a as need be basis
Diversional Therapist No We have a Diversional Therapist. They have passion, drive and enthusiasm. They undertakes group and individual support having a focus on getting out and about and having fun.
Activities Co-ordinator Negotiable
Hairdresser Yes Inhouse Hairdresser available. Opportunity to access once weekly. We encourage residents to use their preferred hairdresser as getting out and about and maintaining a normal life is essential.
Podiatrist Yes Podiatrist visits on a regular basis and all residents are encouraged to have their feet reviewed to support best possible health care outcomes.
Dietitian Yes Specialised diets are catered for. Diabetic and Vegetarian meals are closely monitored to maximise specific nutritional requirements.
Accredited Visitors Yes All Accredited Services are most welcome to attend at residents request.
Kaumatua Yes Kaumatua services are able to be accessed by residents through the Southern District Health Board, or residents will be supported to contact any specified service on request.
Chaplain/Spiritual Advisor Yes Interdenominational Services are untaken on a regular monthly basis. Residents are encouraged to access their own Spiritual provider.
Other Personnel Yes We have an inhouse General Practioner (GP) who visits weekly and is available as requested. All residents have the right to have their own GP support their own ongoing health requirements as outlined in the Health and Disability Sectors Code
Updated: 22 Apr 2019
Specialities or Areas of Expertise
Specialities or Areas of Expertise
Specialities or Areas of ExpertiseStatusDetails
Oxygen Management Yes All aspects associated with Oxygen Management Therapy are able to be provided.
Gastronomy/Nasogastric Management Yes Services in relation to ongoing medical management is able to be managed in a supportive environment.
Palliative Care (Contracted) Yes Part of our service is to provide palliative care.
End of Life/Palliative Care Yes Part of our service is to provide palliative care.
IV Antibiotic Capability Yes Access to IV Antibiotic capability can be arranged using external service providers.
Wound Care Yes Wound Care is undertaken to align to best practise management. A close relationship with the Wound Care Speciality Team supports wound care practises.
Diabetic Care Yes Diabetic requirements are supported to maximise a 'normal lifestyle'. Close monitoring and supervision and medication management is supervised if required. Full participation with each and every resident is part of daily care requirements
Continence Advice Yes All continence issues are addressed to ensure dignity and respect is maintained.
Stroke Rehabilitation Yes It is a privilege to support people to maximise their wellbeing. It is about using it and not losing it. With ongoing family support and resident determination we have had residents return to there home environment.It is all about 'peoples choices'.
Infection Control Yes Oxford Court has a dedicated Health & Safety team. Staff are activilely involved and participate in regualr Health and Safety training to ensure that Health & Safety is alive and well within the work place.
Surgical Followup Yes We work closely with external providers to ensure that resident requirements are met to maximise ongoing health care needs.
Clinical Management Yes We have a dedicated Clinical Manager who has a focus on supporting and complimenting the Registered Nursing Team to ensure every aspect of daily care provision is provided in a timely manner.
Other Specialties Yes Access is available for ongoing review and follow-up with the SDHB Nurse Practitioner for Psycological Services.
Updated: 22 Apr 2019
Respite, Carer Support or other Short Stay
Respite, Carer Support or other Short Stay
Respite, Carer Support or other Short StayStatusDetails
Respite Yes Respite care is catered for when a vacancy is available.
Updated: 22 Apr 2019
Features
Features
FeatureStatusDetails
May Bring Own Furniture Yes Folk are more than welcome to bring in their own furniture.
Single Rooms Yes
Ensuite Yes
Alcohol Permitted Yes It is all about a change of address not a change in lifestyle. We are committed to supporting independent choices.
Pets In Residence Yes Currently we have a beautiful cat who enjoys the company of the folk who live here.
Negotiate To Bring Own Pet Yes You are most welcome to discuss this with the Manager
Phone Access In Own Room Yes This is paid for privately, and you can discuss this further with the administration team.
Wifi No Wifi is available however there is a service provision fee for this.
Resident can adjust heating in own room Yes All rooms are heated by 'underfloor heating'. The temperature can be adjusted in your own room to meet your individualised requirements.
Lounges/seating areas Yes There are 2 lounges. Reid Unit lounge supports a variety of activities and entertainment. In Maher Unit there is a lounge with a kitchenette, Residents families are able to make themselves a hot drink.Dining is available in both Units.
Provide End of Life/Palliative Care Yes We offer care to ensure that dignity, respect, support and choices are maximised. Our services align to the Code of Health & Disability Services Consumers' Rights.
Day Programme for day stay clients Yes .
Outings Yes Regular van trips are encouraged. Getting out and about is essential and there are many favourite haunts visited. Fish and Chips at Waihola, and Ice Cream at Port Chalmers or a trip to Blue Skin Bay. If we can make it happen we will.
Residents Committee Yes Residents meet monthly with the General Manager.
Family Committee No Family Meetings are undertaken with the Management team. Families are encouraged to discuss matters with the Management team and staff.
Policy for management of challenging behaviour Yes Policies and procedures are embedded within our facility to meet all requirements in relation to care provision.
Smoking Permitted Yes Ideally we would like to be 'smoke free' however we are very aware that it is the choice of each and every individual. There is no designated smokers area on site.
Updated: 22 Apr 2019
Special Features
Special Features
Oxford Court Lifecare strives to provide excellence in care. We believe it is about your choices. We are committed to providing services that align to the Code of Health and Disability Services Consumers' Rights. Your privacy, dignity and respect are our focus. We encourage independence and promote self worth. It is all about getting it 'right' for you and your family. We strive to meet your individual needs.
Updated: 22 Apr 2019
Interests & Activities
Interests & Activities
Activity programme, Advocate, Age Concern, Art, Arthritis society, BBQ, Big print books - an inhouse library service (books supplied by the DCC library services), Blind Foundation, Board games, Bowls, Breakfast in bed, Cards, Church, Concerts, Cooking, Craft, Dancing, Entertainers, Exercises, Fax, Flower arranging, Games, Gardening, Garden, Happy Hour, Housie, Indoor Games, Internet, Jigsaw, Library, Movies, Music, Newspaper reading, Outings, Parkinson's Society, Petanque, Pianist, Quizzes, Reading, Roses, RSA, Senior Citizens, Shopping, Sing-a-longs, Singing, Sky TV, Stroke Group, Videos
Updated: 22 Apr 2019
Additional Information
Additional Information
TopicDetails
Details about Meals The day begins with breakfast in your room. The main meal is at Dinner time and a lighter evening meal is served in our dining room(s).
Updated: 22 Apr 2019
Languages Spoken
Languages Spoken
LanguageStatusDetails
Cook Island Maori Yes An interpreter service is available at your request
English Yes
Maori - Te Reo Yes An interpreter service is available at your request
Other Information Yes We will do our very best to respond to all ethnicities and cultures. We are all unique individual and any individual requirements will be expored to maximise wellbeing and best practice outcomes.
Updated: 22 Apr 2019
Religious/Spiritual Affiliations
Religious/Spiritual Affiliations
Religious/Spiritual AffiliationsStatusDetails
Anglican Yes
Christian Yes A inter-denominational church service is held monthly in house
Methodist Yes These services are co-ordinated with the inter-denominational chaplaincy.
Presbyterian Yes These services are co-ordinated with the inter-denominational chaplaincy.
(Other comments) Yes Any spiritual advisory is more than welcome to support individual residents at their request.
Updated: 22 Apr 2019
Distances
Distances
LocationDistanceDetails
Public Transport 0.25 km There is a 'Bus stop' on the corner of our block on King Edward Street
Shops 1.00 km South Dunedin main shopping area is on King Edward Street - approximately 3 blocks from the corner of King Edward Street.
Parks 0.25 km There is a park on the corner of our block on King Edward Street.
Updated: 22 Apr 2019
Credentials & Membership
Credentials & Membership
Credentials & Membership RCStatusDetails
Approved provider of Professional Development and Recognition Programme Yes
CareerForce Yes We encourage and support the Health Care Assistants to undertake further education through CareerForce.
Rest Home MOH Audit Report Available. Yes You are welcome to review our audit reports. On request these will be made available to you. We are pleased to inform you that we are now licenced to provide Hospital leve care.
Other details Yes All audits are aligned to the Health & Disabilities Service Standards. Audits are a welcomed part of our provision of care as they direct and guide us in the quest to provide excellence of care provision.
Approved provider of Professional Development and Recognition Programme CareerForce Rest Home MOH Audit Report Available.
Updated: 22 Apr 2019

The Ministry of Health conducts regular audits of Residential Care Facilities. They can be found HERE.

719