Search our directory
My loved one has lived here for 2 years, we chose it because of the family feel, it seemed less impersonal than other facilities we looked at. But, especially in the last year, this has changed. Meals are no longer cooked on site, and the staff turnover has been outrageous. As soon as I learn a nurse's name, I hear she is leaving. Carers seem to be constantly understaffed and in a hurry. My loved one has been feeling increasingly sad, lonely and neglected. She seems to be a guinea pig to train new staff who often don't stay more than a few months, and noone has the time to sit with her for a moment to see if she is really ok. Definitely looking at other facilities, but I'm not sure she's up to moving.
Thank you for your feedback regarding your experience at Oxford Court. The ability to retain registered nurses in the rest home and hospital level care sector is currently at a critical point nationwide and is indeed challenging. The turnover is certainly higher than we would prefer it to be. We acknowledge the importance of providing stability and continuity to our residents. For this reason we have revised our recruitment and retention strategy and are now concentrating on those who demonstrate a commitment and passion for remaining in the aged care sector. This applies to both nursing and caregiver staff. We continue to monitor our residents’ satisfaction with the provision of meals and we are happy to act on any specific feedback we receive so that we can meet individual meal preferences.
I am very sorry that your loved one is experiencing loneliness and feels neglected. This is the not the standard of care that we strive to achieve. I would really value the opportunity to address your concerns in person and to discuss with you how we can improve your loved one’s experience. I would be very happy for your to email me at firstname.lastname@example.org. Or alternatively please pop in and visit the next time you are in the facility. All the best, Catherine Rae, General Manager Oxford Court.
It’s really saddens me to watch how quickly things can change in a rest home when $$ drive the care of the residents. Sure I understand it is a business, but at the end of the day the most important thing is the quality care of the residents. There has been a large turnover of staff due to the ongoing pressure they continue to work under. They used to be able to sit and chat with the residents. Instead now they are running from 1 resident to the next. Residents waiting for over 20 plus minutes to be responded too. Management seem to like creating new rules for the sake of it
*if a resident lashes out and hits them then they are not allowed to ask them to stop it.
*if they are short staffed not all residents will receive their showers
*staff constantly working in a pressure cooker situation
*dinner is not allowed to be served before 5, even if everyone is seated and ready
*any left overs are not allowed to be given to the staff, they must be thrown out
And the list could go on.
Come on management, put the human lense on!
Yes I am very concerned about my love one in this place now and I agree since the new owner the standard has gone way down. The amount of staff leaving is beyond a joke now and it not fair for the residents with people coming and going. It does seem with the new owner it is all about money but if they keep going the way they are they will be closed down cos there will not be any staff left to look after the residents. Yes I am not happy about the food and the odd time I have been there when lunch is brought out it is cold not hot like a meal is meant to be. I do not want to move my love one but if things do not get better I will be. The staff that are there are lovely and do a wonderful job but I am guessing the new owner does not see this or else they would not be all leaving
Thank you for your feedback. Oxford Court is a family owned and operated facility run by wonderful staff who have an absolute focus on our residents’ care and wellbeing. Our facility has been undergoing a period of change with the development of our new wing and we are very sorry that this caused dissatisfaction. If possible, we would greatly appreciate the opportunity to meet face-to-face and proactively discuss any other concerns that you may have.
Many thanks, Oxford Court Lifecare Management Team
With the change of owners Oxford Court has certainly changed
And NOT for the best. Kitchen has been closed and outsourced
To Cibus catering (old ace catering) and menu has been a challenge
Along with disgusting meals. Very well saying they have x amount nutrients in them but when residents are not eating then 0 nutrients.
New owners in my opinion just think about $$$|. No longer are there activities in the week mornings and what activities they have pretty poor.
Happy hour not allowed in new lounge in case carpet gets something spilt on!!!. No curtains in new lounge which means at night can see right in. Not enough chairs for all the residents!
Due to security risk at night main entrance now locked and you reenter thru dinning room which allows all the freezing air in but who Cares??
Let's put the non verbal in this area as they can't complain.
( comment deleted, confidential information).
Time to find some where else for my loved one.
Please think very seriously about putting you loved one in here as owners don't care!
Thank you for your feedback and suggestions. We are very sorry to hear that you feel this way about our services. While we have been undergoing renovations, we are aware that there has been complications and many changes to the current facility. These are still a work in progress and many of the concerns you have raised will be rectified with the completion of the new wing. We will take on board your concerns and make improvements where possible. We aim to continually improve the services we provide and if you have any further feedback, we would greatly appreciate the opportunity to meet with you and work through these.
Much appreciated, Oxford Court Lifecare Management Team.
Manager is genuine and approachable, staff are friendly and helpful, residents seem happy and relaxed.
This home used to be of a high rating. However since new management took over the standards have dropped considerably. Staff have been cut back and they are now poorly trained and overworked which has resulted in deteriorating professional standards. The food is also of a poor quality due to recent outsourcing.
Thank you for your feedback.
As you are aware there have been many external and internal alterations since the building of the new wing in April 2018, as well as the ongoing modifications in the current facility. With such disruptions, unfortunately these have impacted on the daily lives of the residents, whanau, and the staff who support these folk. We have tried to minimise these interruptions as best we can. From our perspective, it has been quite difficult to control these factors, as many of these alterations are required to meet our building compliance and health and safety legal requirements. Please understand, I am not trying to minimise your concerns you have identified. We have been trying our best to inform residents, whanau, and staff of any renovations ahead of time, at times this may not have been conveyed in a timely manner. My sincerest apologies for this oversight, if this was the case.
We do strive to inform residents and staff through our monthly meetings regarding any matters and have been open and transparent about such issues. Whanau are emailed of any changes and updated. We received favourable comments regarding this form of communication from our recent whanau meeting in March 2019.
I fully appreciate and recognise why you feel that our standards have ‘dropped.’ Having these ongoing renovations have made it temporarily difficult to maintain our high standards. However, there is a light at the end of the tunnel, with these alterations coming to an end very soon after a long year. I do thank you, the residents, whanau, and the dedicated team of staff for all of your ongoing patience.
You have mentioned that we have had staff cut backs. I would like to inform you that this is not the case. This brings me to discuss the evaluation of our service delivery.
It was identified that the care staffing ratio needed to be reviewed due to feedback and concerns received from residents, whanau, and staff late last year. After taking on these concerns, we identified the gaps as to where staff were best placed, so we implemented the following:
• An additional line was created in the morning shift. These staff members start and finish later to assist the needs of the residents, and to support their colleagues in the morning and incoming afternoon shift. This change occurred in February 2019 and is working well. We received great feedback regarding this implementation from the recent whanau meeting held in March 2019.
• A review of the activity hours was examined and the hours were amended. These changes involved the activity staff member commencing later in the day, and finishing before teatime, over a five day period to support and engage resident’s needs and requirements. This new change occurred late January 2019.
• The afternoon shifts hours were reviewed and this was again modified to fill in the identified gaps in our service delivery during times that we recognised the residents required support.
• All these implementations remain a ‘work in progress,’ as we continue to evaluate, improve, and stream line our service delivery moving forward.
The other concern you have raised is, “…staff are poorly trained and overworked which has resulted in deteriorating professional standards...”
We are fortunate that one of our dedicated Registered Nurses has expressed an interest in the Educator role for our Facility. We are currently supporting her to go through the right channels to become a qualified assessor for the Health Care Assistants. She has been part of providing education sessions on a monthly basis at our staff meetings. We also use other external health providers to educate the staff. We have a yearly in service education schedule which is based on our contractual agreements with the Ministry of Health.
Another aspect we undertake for all staff is the completion of the annual competencies. This is mandatory. Staff are assessed on Health and Safety, Fire Safety, Moving and Handling, Hand Hygiene, Chemical Training, Social Media, and Medication Administration competencies. This is also compulsory on induction of all new staff, prior to them starting their prospective roles at Oxford Court Lifecare. We also meet new staff at the start of their employment, and at regular intervals thereafter, to ensure they are fully supported in their roles. In addition, a staff member may require further training and support so they are confident and capable. This will enable them to be competent in their role, supporting the residents and their work colleagues. I would be interested to meet with you to understand what your expectation is and what we could do to improve from here.
You also stated, “…food is also of a poor quality due to recent outsourcing.”
It has now been three weeks that the food has been cooked off site, and delivered into Oxford Court Lifecare. As referred to in an email sent to whanau in March 2019, prior to the kitchen service changing over to the new provider, I respectfully asked for some time to implement the necessary processes, as I did anticipate we would have teething issues to contend with. The changes were discussed with those present at the whanau meeting in March 2019. Copies of the menu were given to whanau and residents at the whanau meeting and the following day, the menu was emailed to whanau. The residents and staff have access to copies of these menus around the Facility. I have been very open and transparent about these changes. We informed residents, whanau, and staff and did place additional notices up to inform every one of the changeover of kitchen services. My apologies if you did not receive the information, I am happy to amend this immediately.
At the recent residents meeting, we had a very open discussion about the new menu. The feedback from the residents about the food was taken on board, and this was filtered back to the catering company concerned. They have taken the feedback and are working on any issues at present. I am also working in close proximity with the Directors of the catering company to ensure we are ‘getting it right.’ We are still working through the feedback to improve where we can. Again, this is a ‘work in progress’ it is still very much early days, but we are making progress. I do ask for your patience and support. I have had family members provide feedback to me directly, which is fantastic as I am able to take this back to the Directors at the catering company, to improve ours and their food service delivery. Again this will take time. I am happy to meet and discuss this further if there are still issues that you feel need to be addressed immediately.
I do hope this may address your concerns brought forward.
Thank you for giving me the opportunity to address these issues. We do strive to ‘get it right’ but I do recognise that there is always room for improvement.
RN, BN, PG Cert (Gerontology)
|Contract with DHB||Yes|
|Updated: 22 Apr 2019|
|Approximate number of beds at this level of care||49|
|Hospital respite enquires welcome.|
|Premium Room Charges||Some Rooms as at 25 Mar 2020|
|MOH Certification and Audit Report||View MOH certification and audit report (opens in a new tab)|
|Updated: 2 Apr 2020|
|We are here to make a difference. For the Resident it is a change of address but we strive to ensure that your 'lifestyle' choices are valued and preserved. It is your life - we are here to facilitate and support you to maintain your independence, dignity and respect.|
|Updated: 22 Apr 2019|
|Type||Hours Per Week||Status||Details|
|Registered Nurse||Yes||We have a dedicated team of Registered Nurses who provide 24/7 care and support for the Residents at Oxford Court Lifecare.|
|Nurse Practitioner||Negotiable||We work closely with the Southern District Health Boards Nurse practitioners. Their speciality aligns to supporting older persons health. They visit the facility on a regular basis to provide ongoing support for individual Residents.|
|Enrolled Nurse||Yes||We are fortunate to have an Enrolled Nurse as part of our clinical team.|
|Healthcare Assistants/Caregivers||Yes||There is a high level of support offered by a very committed team of Health Care Assistants. Staffing ratios are aligned to the Aged Related Residential Care Services.|
|Physiotherapist||Negotiable||A Physiotherapist can be accessed when necessary.|
|Occupational Therapist||Negotiable||An Occupational Therapist can be accessed when necessary.|
|Social Worker (on site)||Negotiable||Social Work Support can be accessed when necessary.|
|Diversional Therapist||Yes||We have a Diversional Therapist in-house. They have passion, drive and enthusiasm and take pride in meeting residents individual requirements.|
|Hairdresser||Yes||In-house Hairdressing is available. Opportunity to access weekly. We encourage residents to use their preferred hairdresser as getting out and about is essential.|
|Podiatrist||Yes||The Podiatrist visits on a regular basis and all residents are able to access these services.|
|Dietitian||Yes||Specialised diets are catered for. Diabetic and Vegetarian meals are available. A dietitian is available where required and works closely with the multi disciplinary team to maximise nutritional outcomes.|
|Accredited Visitors||Yes||All Accredited Services are most welcome to attend at residents request.|
|Kaumatua||Yes||Kaumatua services are able to be accessed by residents through the Southern District Health Board, or residents will be supported to contact any specified service on request.|
|Chaplain/Spiritual Advisor||Yes||Interdenominational Services are undertaken on a regular monthly basis. Residents are encouraged to access their own Spiritual provider.|
|Other Personnel||Yes||We have a Medical Center dedicated the facility. All residents have the right to choose their own GP, as outlined in the Health and Disability Sectors Code, however it can be timely on admission into residential care services to review GP access.|
|Updated: 18 Jun 2019|
|Specialities or Areas of Expertise||Status||Details|
|Oxygen Management||Yes||All aspects associated with Oxygen Management Therapy are able to be provided.|
|Gastronomy/Nasogastric Management||Yes||Services in relation to ongoing medical management is able to be managed in a supportive environment.|
|Palliative Care (Contracted)||Yes||Part of our service is to provide palliative care.|
|End of Life/Palliative Care||Yes||Part of our service is to provide palliative care.|
|IV Antibiotic Capability||Yes||Access to IV Antibiotic capability can be arranged using external service providers.|
|Wound Care||Yes||Wound Care is undertaken to align to best practice management. A close relationship with the Wound Care Specialty Team supports wound care practices.|
|Diabetic Care||Yes||Diabetic requirements are supported to maximise a 'normal lifestyle'. Close monitoring and supervision and medication management is supervised if required. Full participation with each and every resident is part of daily care requirements|
|Continence Advice||Yes||All continence issues are addressed to ensure dignity and respect is maintained.|
|Stroke Rehabilitation||Yes||It is a privilege to support people to maximise their well being. It is about using it and not losing it. With ongoing family support and resident determination we have had residents return to there home environment. It is all about 'peoples choices'.|
|Infection Control||Yes||Oxford Court has a dedicated Health & Safety team. Staff are actively involved and participate in regular Health and Safety training to ensure that Health & Safety is alive and well within the work place.|
|Surgical Followup||Yes||We work closely with external providers to ensure that resident requirements are met to maximise ongoing health care needs.|
|Clinical Management||Yes||We have a dedicated Clinical Manager who has a focus on supporting and complimenting the Registered Nursing Team to ensure every aspect of daily care provision is provided in a timely manner.|
|Other Specialties||Yes||We work closely with the Otago Hospice out reach team to support palliative and end of life care. Access is available for ongoing review and follow-up with the SDHB Nurse Practitioner for Psychological Services.|
|Updated: 22 Apr 2019|
|Respite, Carer Support or other Short Stay||Status||Details|
|Respite||Yes||Respite care is catered for when a vacancy is available.|
|Other Short Stay Programme||Yes|
|High Care Needs||Yes|
|Booking can be made in advance||Yes|
|Updated: 22 Apr 2019|
|May Bring Own Furniture||Yes||Folk are more than welcome to bring in their own furniture.|
|Alcohol Permitted||Yes||It is all about a change of address not a change in lifestyle. We are committed to supporting independent choices.|
|Pets In Residence||Yes||Currently we have a beautiful cat who enjoys the company of the folk who live here.|
|Negotiate To Bring Own Pet||Yes||You are most welcome to discuss this with the Manager|
|Phone Access In Own Room||Yes||This is paid for privately and can be arranged with our service provider.|
|Wifi||Yes||Wifi is available throughout the facility|
|Resident can adjust heating in own room||Yes||All rooms are heated by 'underfloor heating'. The temperature can be adjusted in your own room to meet your individualised requirements.|
|Cater for under 65 yrs with Disability||Yes||Long term chronic healthcare is provided for|
|Lounges/seating areas||Yes||Reid Unit lounge supports a variety of activities and entertainment. Maher Unit lounge has a kitchenette which Residents families are able to make themselves a hot drink when visiting .Dining is available in both Reid Unit and Maher Unit.|
|Provide End of Life/Palliative Care||Yes||We offer care to ensure that dignity, respect, support and choices are maximised. Our services align to the Code of Health & Disability Services Consumers' Rights.|
|Palliative Care Contract||Yes|
|Day Programme for day stay clients||Yes||.|
|Outings||Yes||Regular van trips are encouraged. Getting out and about is essential and there are many favourite haunts visited. Fish and Chips at Waihola, and Ice Cream at Port Chalmers or a trip to Blue Skin Bay. If we can make it happen we will.|
|Residents Committee||Yes||Residents Meetings are held regularly with the Management Team|
|Family Committee||Yes||Resident Family Meetings are held regularly with the Management Team|
|Policy for management of challenging behaviour||Yes||Policies and procedures are embedded within our facility to meet all requirements in relation to care provision and meeting certification and age related care contract requirements.|
|Confused Residents||Yes||This, at times, goes with the territory|
|Smoking Permitted||Yes||Ideally we would like to be 'smoke free' however we are very aware that it is the choice of each and every individual. Due to the extension of the new build underway, there is no designated smokers area available on site.|
|Updated: 22 Apr 2019|
|Activity Programme, Advocate, Age Concern, Art, Arthritis Society, BBQ, Blind Foundation, Board games, Bowls, Breakfast in bed, Cards, Church, Concerts, Cooking, Craft, Dancing, Entertainers, Exercises, Fax, Flower arranging, Games, Gardening, Garden, Happy Hour, Housie, Indoor Games, Internet, Jigsaw, Library, Movies, Music, Newspaper reading, Outings, Parkinson's Society, Petanque, Pianist, Quizzes, Reading, Roses, RSA, Senior Citizens, Shopping, Sing-a-longs, Singing, Videos|
|Updated: 22 Apr 2019|
|Details about Meals||The day begins with breakfast in your room. The main meal is at Dinner time and a lighter evening meal is served in our dining room(s).|
|Updated: 22 Apr 2019|
|Maori - Te Reo||Yes||An interpreter service is availble at your request|
|Other Information||Yes||We will do our very best to respond to all ethnicities and cultures. We are all unique individual and any individual requirements will be explored to maximise wellbeing and best practice outcomes.|
|Updated: 22 Apr 2019|
|(Other comments)||Yes||Any spiritual advisory is more than welcome to support individual residents at their request.|
|Updated: 22 Apr 2019|
|Public Transport||0.25 km||There is a 'Bus stop' on the corner of our block on King Edward Street|
|Shops||1.00 km||South Dunedin main shopping area is on King Edward Street - approximately 3 blocks from the corner of King Edward Street.|
|Parks||0.25 km||There is a park on the corner of our block on King Edward Street.|
|Updated: 22 Apr 2019|
|Credentials & Membership RC||Status||Details|
|Approved provider of Professional Development and Recognition Programme||Yes|
|CareerForce||Yes||All Health Care Assistants are supported to achieve NZQA qualifications through CareerForce|
|National Certificate in Community Support Services (Core Competencies)||Yes|
|National Certificate in Diversional Therapy||Yes|
|Rest Home MOH Audit Report Available.||Yes||You are welcome to review our audit reports. On request these will be made available to you.|
|Other details||Yes||All audits are aligned to the Health & Disabilities Service Standards. Audits are a welcomed part of our provision of care as they direct and guide us in the quest to provide excellence of care provision.|
|Updated: 22 Apr 2019|
The Ministry of Health conducts regular audits of Residential Care Facilities. They can be found HERE.