Win this Great Book at Eldernet!!!

A stunning debut novel about three young women and their search for life and love in 1950s New York.

For a small-town girl with big dreams in 1955, there is no address more desirable than New York’s Barbizon Hotel – the place where Grace Kelly lived when she first came to the big city. Laura, a patrician beauty from Connecticut, arrives with a magazine internship and dreams of becoming a writer ; hopelessly romantic Dolly is working the secretarial pool and looking to be swept off her feet; and Vivian, a red-headed British bombshell, yearns to make it as a singer while working nights as a cigarette girl.

As the young women become friends, they embark on a journey of self-discovery that will take them from the penthouses of Park Avenue to the Beat scene of Greenwich Village to Atlantic City’s Steel Pier – and into the arms of very different men who will alter their lives forever.

Perfect for fans of Mad Men, The Best of Everything and The Paris Wife, this is a novel filled to the brim with glamour, following the lives of three women as they are lured into the exhilarating, dazzling world of New York City.

Review by Esther at Eldernet.

This was a great wee weekend read. A quote on the front calls it a "wonderful champagne bubble of a book" – and as odd as that sounds that’s an apt description.

The novel follows three female protagonists as they learn to navigate New York in the 1950s. It captures the conflict being a in time of change as well a period of traditions and societal norms. Our three ladies explore different parts of the city and of themselves, each offering a glimpse of what seems historically accurate places (and even people).

There are some predictable storylines, but that’s no crime – this novel does scratch the genre of ‘chick lit’ – but there was also some unexpected moments for me and that made me enjoy the novel even more.

As there’s three leading ladies it’s quite easy to find a character to identify with and the novel, although not pace-y comes along at an enjoyable rate and is one of those books that you look forward to picking up again.

If you are seeking a little light reading to transport you to a different time and place then I’d recommend it. Its a great holiday/airport/easy read.

To go into the draw Click Here

Draw open to NZ residents only. Draw closes 23rd April 2015.

About Esther Perriam

Esther Perriam
Esther Perriam is a Director of Eldernet. She’s worked in the business for over 15 years and has been lucky to visit many of the older person’s services around the country. She’s never short of an opinion on…pretty much anything. Esther really loves reading and you’ll see plenty of book reviews authored by her. As a mother of two children there’s not much free time but if there is she also enjoys cooking (for grown-ups, not the kids!) and anything beach related in her spare time. Esther has presented at conferences around New Zealand and is happy to be contacted in regards to speaking or presenting at your event.