Jump to Content

Te Kahui Mangai - Directory of Iwi and Māori Organisations

At a glance
Te Kahui Mangai - Directory of Iwi and Māori Organisations
Culture led services
Capital & Coast, Northland, Waitemata, Auckland, Counties Manukau, Waikato, Bay of Plenty, Lakes, Tairawhiti, Taranaki, Whanganui, Hawke's Bay, Wairarapa, MidCentral, Hutt Valley, Nelson Marlborough, West Coast, Canterbury, South Canterbury, Southern (Otago), Southern (Southland)
Visit Website
Other services

We have disabled our ‘feedback’ feature. We apologise for any inconvenience. Find out more here: I want to read reviews of rest homes

Te Kāhui Māngai is a useful tool for anyone to find out basic information about iwi, hapū and marae.

Te Kāhui Māngai also assists the Crown in meeting its obligations to local authorities under section 35A of the Resource Management Act 1991.
Service Description
Service Description
Te Kāhui Māngai gives information on iwi identified in the Māori Fisheries Act 2004 [see MFA map], and those iwi/hapū that have begun the process of negotiating settlement of their historical Treaty of Waitangi claims; this includes their rohe, hapū, marae, and the organisations whose mandates to represent these iwi/hapū have been recognised by the New Zealand Government. These representative organisations are;

Mandated Iwi Organisations and Recognised Iwi Organisations in the Māori Fisheries Act 2004; and
Mandated bodies recognised for Treaty of Waitangi settlement purposes, including Treaty negotiations and post-settlement governance entities;
Te Kāhui Māngai also includes:

Iwi authorities and Groups that represent hapū for the purposes of the Resource Management Act 1991;
National and Urban Māori organisations that have statutory associations with representative iwi organisations ("Other Organisations"); and
Urban/Community marae and Institutional marae.
Updated: 6 Jun 2023